Kathleen's blog


Great new book about Riot Grrrl
September 12, 2010, 8:29 pm
Filed under: Announcements

Girls to the Front is the first meticulously researched book about Riot Grrrl. I usually don’t get behind projects like this cuz they are typically really bad but I think this book is pretty on. Sara Marcus tackles the good, the bad and the ugly for sure, but also comes at it from an interesting perspective. That of a woman who came of age just a little after the phenom started dissipating, but desperately wanted to be involved. I really appreciate how honest her introduction is and the tenacity it took for her to make this thing happen. I was on tour during a big part of RG’s heyday and missed a lot of stuff that happened so this book actually taught me a lot. Check out this super smart review of it by Johanna Fateman for BOOKFORUM.

Comments Off on Great new book about Riot Grrrl





Comments are closed.